Hot Springs, Arkansas

It is now the time of year that everyone wants to get out of their house! I went on a great day trip that I want to share with YOU if you are deciding where to go.

Something to know about me: Planning for trips is NOT my strength. I plan just about every other aspect of my life, but when it comes to trips, I become overwhelmed and turn into a “go with the flow” kind of person. Therefore, this blog is written for people just like me! Those of you that aren’t into planning and researching, but want something fun where someone else has done the legwork.

I’m going to tell you about a 1-2 day trip (if you live in Texas) that will be awesome if you like the outdoors.

Last July, I drove from Houston to my hometown of Willoughby, Ohio. On the way, I decided to stop for a day trip. I closed my eyes, put out my index finger, and landed on Hot Springs, Arkansas.

Here are some things I did (and you should, too!) to have a great trip with minimal planning.

Before you go:

  • Invest in some hiking boots. They’re less that $40 and trust me, they make a huge difference when hiking. I picked up a pair like this at Academy.
  • Get a hiking backpack. I hate purses and usually just load up my wallet with keys and a phone. But trust me, an inexpensive backpack will be great for sunscreen, insect repellant, maps, small first aide kit, etc. Get one with a water pouch. The backpack will make such a difference in your hike.
  • Make a hotel reservation. If you’re in Hot Springs, you’ve got to stay at the most touristy place, right? Stay at the Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa. It’s across the street from the National Park and there are trails overlooking the city. I was surprised by the overlook; it was gorgeous. You can see the Arlington Hotel through the trees:

On your way there:

  • Once you’re in Arkansas, take a detour and float the Caddo River. Bring a bathing suit and a lot of sunscreen and water. Seriously, bring a lot of sunscreen. I burned and got a headache because I didn’t follow my own advice. I called the Arrowhead Adventure Company and made a reservation for a kayak. It was about 3 hours on the river and just a peaceful, beautiful experience.

Once you’re there

  • Go to the Caddo River first! Float it and enjoy. Keep putting sunscreen on and drinking water.
  • Once you get to Hot Springs, get settled and walk the trails around the hotel in the afternoon/evening.
  • Get some sleep! In the morning, before you check out and go to Hot Springs National Park, stop for breakfast at The Pancake Shop. You do not want to miss this place!
  • Get over to Hot Springs National Park. There are so many trails and paths- and don’t miss the views from the Mountain Tower.

Sometimes you go on a trip where everything just aligns- the experience, the food, the activities, the flow of the trip. That’s what Hot Springs was for me!

Leave a comment